SQL Server Configuration Manager Stopped Working

I’m posting this so that I remember it if it happens again. Here’s the story:

I installed a bunch of 64-bit Analysis Services instances (different versions) on a VM for testing. After a while I started getting this message when I tried to start Configuration Manager:

“Cannot connect to WMI provider. You do not have permission or the
server is unreachable. Note that you can only manage SQL Server 2005
and later servers with SQL Server Configuration Manager.
Invalid class [0x80041010]”

I found some posts on the web that talk about how to fix this but those scenarios didn’t seem to apply to my case (they mentioned it happening for x86 installs or after an uninstall – neither of which I had done on this machine). It turns out the solution seems to work though. What I did:

On the latest version of SQL Server installed (in my case SQL Server 2012), run this command:

mofcomp %Program Files (x86)%\Microsoft SQL Server\110\Shared\sqlmgmproviderxpsp2up.mof

After this, SQL Server Configuration Manager started working again.

Leave a Reply

